

63RD ANNUAL MEETING

JUNE 24-28, 2023



Prevention Improving Pregnancy Outcomes through Collaborative Research

May 18, 2023

Society for Birth Defects Research and Prevention Announces 2023 Awardees, Award Finalists, and Special Lecturers

Keynote Lecture

Christina Bucci-Rechtweg, MD, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

Scheduled Presentation: Protecting Mothers and Babies Through Research: A Time for Change

Josef Warkany Lecture

Stephen B. Harris, PhD, Stephen B. Harris Group

Scheduled Presentation: Building the Future of Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Testing: Our

Legacy, Our Responsibility

Robert L. Brent Lecture: Teratogen Update

Anne D. Lyerly, MA, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Scheduled Presentation: Teratology Research in the Shadow of the Dobbs Decision

F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award

Bethany R. Hannas, PhD, DABT, Eli Lilly and Company

Scheduled Presentation: Water Fleas to Women of Childbearing Potential: A Career Path Focused on Application of Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Data to Human Health Risk Assessment

Patricia Rodier Mid-Career Award for Research and Mentoring

Lori L. Driscoll, PhD, The Colorado College

Scheduled Presentation: Interactions between Early Postnatal Experience, Gut Microbiota, and Adult Neurobehavior in a Rodent Model

Agnish Fellowship

Thomas B. Knudsen, PhD, US Environmental Protection Agency

Scheduled Presentation: Knowledge, Education, and Computational Intelligence

James G. Wilson Publication Award for the best paper published in the journal Birth Defects Research Xiaoging Chang, PhD, DABT, Inotiv-RTP

Quantitative in vitro to in vivo extrapolation for developmental toxicity potency of valproic acid analogues. Birth Defects Research, 114(16), 1037–1055 (2022) (doi.org/10.1002/bdr2.2019)

Edward W. Carney Distinguished Service Award

Susan L. Makris, MS, US Environmental Protection Agency (Retired)

Society for Birth Defects Research and Prevention Innovator Award Finalists

- **Josh L. Everson, PhD**, University of Texas at Austin *Title:* High-Throughput Detection of Craniofacial Defects in Fluorescent Zebrafish
- Loreen Straub, MD, MS, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
 Title: Screening for Elevated Congenital Malformation Risk Following Prenatal Antipsychotic Exposure
 Using Tree-Based Scan Statistics for Signal Identification
- Almut G. Winterstein, RPh, PhD, FISPE, University of Florida
 Title: No Time to Lose: Prenatal Exposure to Teratogenic Medications and New Abortion Laws in the
 United States

Edward W. Carney Trainee Awards

- Sarah G. Avila-Barnard, BS, University of California Riverside
- Josh L. Everson, PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Marie W. Taubeneck Award

Madeline Vera-Colón, MS, University of California, Irvine

Wilson Presentation Award Finalists

Postdoctoral Fellows

- Sabine Mainbourg, MD, PhD, Research center of Sainte Justine University Hospital, University of Montréal
- Sarah Park, PhD, Center for Computational Toxicology and Exposure, US EPA
- Maria D. Politis, DrPH, MPH, Icahn School of Medicine of Mount Sinai
- Eirini Tseligka, PhD, Medicines for Malaria Venture (MMV)

Graduate Students

- Laila Aboulatta, BPharm, PharmD, University of Manitoba
- **Tyler Beames, BS**, University of Wisconsin–Madison
- Alana Ferris, BS, Columbia University
- Kelsey Robinson, MS, DVM, Emory University

BDRP Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Fellow Travel Awards

- Laila Aboulatta, BPharm, PharmD, University of Manitoba
- Narimene Ait Belkacem, MSc, University of Montreal
- Sarah G. Avila-Barnard, BS, University of California, Riverside
- **Dylan Davis, BS**, VCOM Medical School Virginia Campus
- Amanda Dorsev, MPH (Spring 2023), Emory University
- Josh L. Everson, PhD, University of Texas at Austin
- Celeste L.Y. Ewig, PharmD, University of Florida
- Alana Ferris, BS, Columbia University
- Hunter T. Fitzpatrick, BS, ORISE, US EPA
- Jessica Gorgui, MSc, University of Montreal
- Raeden O. Gray, BS, University of Louisville
- Nahiyan Saiyara Khan, BSc, University of Montreal
- Maya Elie Laham, PharmD, University of Montreal
- Alekhya Lavu, PharmD, University of Manitoba
- Mary M. Lowdermilk, BS, Boston College
- Sabine Mainbourg, MD, PhD, Research center of Sainte Justine University Hospital, University of Montréal
- Haneesha Mohan, PhD, University Health Network (UHN), Toronto General Research Institute
- Sarah S. Park, PhD. Center for Computational Toxicology and Exposure, US EPA
- Maria D. Politis, PhD, MPH, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
- Aditi Singh, MS, Wayne State University
- Nicole Smolinski, PharmD, University of Florida
- Eirini Tseligka, PhD, Medicines for Malaria Venture (MMV)
- Yanning Wang, MS, University of Florida

For details about the awards or annual meeting, please visit

https://www.birthdefectsresearch.org/meetings/2023/

Media Contact: Heather Carskaddan, hcarskaddan@birthdefectsresearch.org, 703-438-3104 ext.1606